Ballots Set for MN Primaries and Elections in MN

The ballots are set for races in the Minnesota, U.S. House, U.S. Senate and other offices.

The filing period for the seats ended Tuesday.

For races with more than two candidates from a political party, the primary election is August 13th.  In other races with only one candidate per party, the general election is November 5th.

For Congress, Republican Congressman Brad Finstad of New Ulm, is the incumbent in District 1 and filed for the seat.  His Republican challengers in the primary are Shawn Tweten of Mankato  and Republican Gregory A. Goetzman of Rochester.

Democrat Rachel Bohman, of Rochester, also filed for the seat and is unopposed in the primary.

The district covers the bottom of the state across southern Minnesota.

The following candidates have filed for the Minnesota House of Representatives in Districts 22A and 23A.

In District 22A, Republican incumbent Bjorn Olson, of Fairmont is being challenged by Democrat Marisa Ulmen, of Madelia.  The district includes southern Blue Earth County, eastern Watonwan County, most of Martin County and western Faribault County.

In District 23A, Republican incumbent Peggy Bennett of Albert Lea is being challenged by Democrat Joe Staloch, also of Albert Lea.  The District covers portions of Faribault, Freeborn, Waseca and Steele Counties.