Nicollet and 8 Other Counties Designated Disaster Areas Due to Drought Conditions

Nicollet County is just one of nine local Minnesota Counties recently designated as primary disaster areas.

According to the U.S. Drought Monitor, those counties suffered form drought intensity during the growing season.

The designation by the United States Department of Agriculture allows the Farm Service Agency to extend much needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans.

The loan can then be used to pay for the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock or be used to reorganized farming operations.

Other primary natural disaster areas include Redwood, Rice, Murry and McLeod.

Blue Earth along with Le Sueur, Cottonwood, Waseca and Brown County were also eligible as contiguous counties.