2022 Local Election Results

Yesterday (Tuesday) was election day and in our area there were a number of races on the ballot.

Voters in Faribault County, reelected Greg Young as County Commissioner in District 2, he ran unopposed.  In the race for County Commissioner in District 4 Incumbent Tom Loveall won reelection over challenger Dana Gates 60% t0 40%, Darren Esser was reelected Auditor/Treasurer, Sherry Asmus was reelected for County Recorder and Cameron Davis was reelected for County Attorney, all ran unopposed.  In the Faribault County Sheriff’s race Sheriff Mike Gormley defeated Jacob Kral 81-19 percent.

A number of School Board Members in the area were also up for election.   In the Blue Earth Area School District, Stacey Beyer, Mark Franta, Sara Hauskins, and Kyle Zierke all won seat on the School Board. 

In the United South Central School District 3 seats were available with 3 candidates running, Brittany Voigt, Katie Hanson and Diana Brooks won those seats

The Maple River School Board saw Dan Sohre, Andrea Sonnek, Noah Germo and Tyler Hunstad each winning a seat on the board and the question on the ballot to renew the expiring property tax levy passed 1,207 yes votes to 1,023 no votes.

And the Granada Huntley East Chain School District Ken Madsen, Bradley Mattson and Laura Koch winning the 3 available seats.

In the City of Blue Earth there were 2 separate elections for council seats.  In the first race for 3 seats Dan Ristau got 38% of the vote, Ann Hanna got 32% and Jacque Drew received 28% and in the Special Election for 2 council seats, Stephanie Walter got 40% and Michael McNerney received 58% of the vote.

The City of Wells will see Mayor David Braun won reelection and John Herman and Crystal Dulas won 2 seats on the City Council.

In Winnebago, Mayor Scott Robertson won reelection.  Winning 2 seats on the City Council were Calvin Howard and Paul Eisenmenger and the special election for Winnebago City Council saw Chris Anderson winning the seat nearly 59% of the vote, Tony Potter came second with 22% and Corey Ehlers came third with 18% of the vote.

The City of Bricelyn saw Incumbent Mayor Dan Klingbeil reelected with 64% of the vote and Willian Hagen picked up 32% and, Jason Anderson won 1 seat on the City Council and , Harold Albrant and Douglas Ellickson tied for the second seat on the council with 59 votes a piece, Wesley Annable came in 4th place in that race.

Dan Haugh was elected Mayor of Delavan with 76% of the vote, his opponent Gary Leach received 23%.  Two seats were available on the city council with Megan Morrison winning one with 30%, April Kruse took the other seat with 24% of the vote, followed by Brandon Hoehle with 23%, Cory Robert Hruza received 14% and John Martin had 9%.  In the special election for a Delavan city council seat David Gaydon won with 33%, Chris Kruse was next in the vote total with 30%, followed by Brady Bleess and Josh Stauffer, each with 13% of the vote, and Lisa Schultz had 10% of the vote.

Easton saw Mayor Bryant Stiernagle reelected and Gayle Heise and Elijah Lippert picking up the council seats with 43 and 33% of the votes respectively and Jennifer Stiernage receiving 23% of the votes..

Elmore Mayor Clara Vereide won reelction and Lorman Jahnke and Jen Williams were elected to 2 seats on the city council.

In Frost, Mayor Bob Loge won reelection, with Jeff Fuchs winning one seat on the city council with 47% of the votes Elise Volz won the other seat with 46% of the votes and Marvin Yahnke picked up 7% of the votes.

Kiester Mayor Rich Goggin lost his reelection bit to challenger Douglas Trytten by only 4 votes and Jason Kluender and Larry Dahleen were elected to the 2 seats up for election on the city council.

Mayor Jeff Ramsley won reelection in Minnesota Lake, while Joan Proehl and Richard Staloch won 2 council seats.

In Walters, the mayor and 2 seats on the city council were decided by write in votes and we hope to have the names of the winners later on Wednesday.