State Races in Minnesota for Tuesday, November 8th

This Tuesday, November 8th marks the Mid Term Elections across the Country, with a number of high profile seats up for grabs in Minnesota.

In the Governor’s race, DFL Gov. Tim Walz and Lt. Governor Peggy Flanagan are facing their biggest challenge from Republican’s Scott Jensen and running mate Matt Birk. Also running are Grassroots – Legalize Cannabis candidates Steve Patterson and Matt Huff, Legal Marijuana Now candidates are James McCaskel and David Sandbeck, Hugh McTavish and Mike Winter are the Independence-Alliance candidates and Gabrielle Prosser and Devin Dwire are the candidates for the Socialist Workers Party.  Current DFL Secretary of State Steve Simon will be facing Republican Kim Crockett.  The race for State Auditor finds DFL Incumbent Julie Blaha facing Republican Ryan Wilson, Grassroots – Legalize Cannabis candidate Will Finn and Legal Marijuana Now Party’s Tim Davis and Attorney General Keith Ellison will face off with Republican Jim Schultz.

More locally, in the race for the U.S. House of Representatives seat in District 1, Republican Incumbent Brad Finstad takes on the DFL’s Jeff Ettinger, Grassroots – Legalize Cannabis Candidate Brian Abrahamson and Legal Marijuana Now’s Richard Reisdorf.

Republican Rich Draheim is running unopposed for the MN Senate District 22 seat, Republican Gene Dornick and DFLer Brandon Lawhead will face off in Senate District 23.  Republican Imcumbent Bjorn Olson will face the DFL’s Marisa Ulmen for the State Representative Seat in District 22A and in District 23A it’s Republican Incumbent Peggy Bennet squaring off against the DFL’s Mary Hinnenkamp.

If you have questions about where to vote, you can visit the Minnesota Secretary of State’s website.  The polls in Minnesota are open from 7am until 8pm.