New Legislative District Maps for Minnesota Released on Tuesday

The deadline for redrawing Minnesota’s legislative districts arrived on Tuesday and after state lawmakers failed to reach an agreement, the Special Redistricting Panel has released its new maps of Minnesota’s districts.  The new districts will remain in effect for 10 years.

Democratic Sen. Nick Frentz of North Mankato said, “the goal of redistricting, of course, is to create eight equal Congressional districts, 67 equal state Senate districts and 134 Minnesota House districts.  They have to be the same population, plus or minus 2%.”

For voters in Southern Minnesota, there will now be three congressional districts.

Brown County is now going to be divided between the 1st and 7th Congressional Districts.  The Mankato-North Mankato area will remain in the First Congressional District, while LeSueur County will move from the 1st to the 2nd Congressional District.

In a statement Rep. Jim Hagedorn’s office says he is planning to run for re-election following the release of the new plans.  His office says, “He looks forward to campaigning for a third term and getting to know the new residents of the District.”

Reps. Michelle Fishback and Angie Craig are also planning to run for re-election.