Fblt County Board Appoints Esser to Take Over County Auditor/Treasurer Duties

On Tuesday, the Faribault County Commissioners appointed Darren Esser to take over duties of the Faribault County Auditor/Treasurer/Coordinator beginning August 1st.


Esser will replace John Thompson, who announced his resignation effective July 31st.


Thompson has served the County for 33 years.


Esser’s appointment is through December 31st, 2022.  The next election for the Auditor/Treasurer/Coordinator will be in November 2022.


In conjunction with the appointment, the Board granted Esser an unpaid leave of absence from his current position as Chief Deputy Auditor/Accountant.  This will allow Esser to return to his former job if he does not choose to seek election or is defeated.


The Board also approved the repurchase of a tax forfeited property in Winnebago, approved a resolution accepting a boat and water grant from the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources for $1,066 and approved the purchase of a 2020 Chevrolet Silverado for the Drainage Department.